Dialectica was founded in 1947 by Gaston Bachelard, Paul Bernays and Ferdinand Gonseth.


The editors of dialectica are Fabrice Correia, University of Geneva, and Philipp Blum, University of Lucerne, Switzerland.

Philipp Blum is in charge of the day-to-day functioning of Dialectica as well as the contact with authors and referees. Please write to with any queries and questions.

The reviews editor are Stephan Leuenberger and Philipp Blum. We do not accept unsolicited book reviews, but welcome by authors of their newly published books, and receive suggestions for reviewers. We are looking for controversial and philosophically interesting reviews of not more than 2000 words.

Editorial board

Jérôme Dokic Institut Jean Nicod, Paris
Pascal Engel EHESS
Manuel García-Carpintero Universitat de Barcelona
Diego Marconi Università di Torino
Carlos Moya Universitat de Valéncia
Martine Nida-Rümelin Université de Fribourg
François Récanati Institut Jean Nicod, Paris
Marco Santambrogio Università degli Studi di Parma
Peter Simons Trinity College Dublin
Gianfranco Soldati Université de Fribourg
Marcel Weber Université de Genève

Honorary Board

Erwin Engeler Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich
Wilhelm Essler J.-W. Goethe Universität, Frankfurt
Richard Glauser Université de Neuchâtel
Guido Küng Université de Fribourg
Kevin Mulligan ISFI, Lugano
Daniel Schulthess Université de Neuchâtel

Editorial Committee

Philipp Blum (né Keller) University of Lucerne
Claudio Calosi Université de Genève
Fabrice Correia Université de Genève
Catharine Diehl Universität Luzern
Julien Dutant King's College London
Matthias Egg Universität Bern
Patrik Engisch Université de Fribourg
David Furrer Universität Luzern
Andrea Giananti Université de Fribourg
Jörg Löschke Universität Zürich
Arturs Logins Université de Genève
Giovanni Merlo Université de Genève
Robert Michels Université de Genève
Sebastian Muders Universität Zürich
Paolo Natali Université de Genève
Donnchadh O'Conaill Université de Fribourg
François Pellet Universität Münster
Edgar Phillips Université de Fribourg
Steph Rennick University of Glasgow
Maria Scarpati Université de Neuchâtel
Philipp Schwind Universität Zürich
Mike Stuart Université de Genève
Fabrice Teroni Université de Genève
Daniel Vanello University College Dublin
Lisa Vogt Universitadt de Barcelona
Jonas Waechter Università della Svizzera italiana
Christian Weibel Universität Zürich

Consulting Board

Johannes Brandl Universität Salzburg
João Branquinho Universidade de Lisboa
Elke Brendel Universität Bonn
Ingar Brinck Lunds Universitet
Eros Corazza Ikerbasque and Carleton University
Josep Corbi Universitat Valéncia
Michael Esfeld Université de Lausanne
Dagfinn Føllesdal Stanford University
Frank Jackson Australian National University
Max Kistler Université de Paris-I, IHPST, Paris
Max Kölbel Universität Wien
Jan Lacki Université de Genève
Karel Lambert University of California, Irvine
Paolo Leonardi Università di Bologna
Fraser MacBride University of Manchester
Josep Macià Universitat de Barcelona
Genoveva Martí Universitat de Barcelona
Elisabeth Pacherie Insitut Jean Nicod, Paris
David Piñeda Universitat de Girona
Wlodek Rabinowicz Lunds Universitet
Barry Smith University of Buffalo
Thomas Strahm Universität Bern
Christine Tappolet Université de Montréal
Neil Tennant Ohio State University
Mark Textor King's College London
Achille Varzi Columbia University
Alberto Voltolini University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
Timothy Williamson University of Oxford


The members of the Editorial Committee meet regularly to discuss the papers submitted to dialectica, to choose referees, read the referee reports and decide on whether papers are (i) rejected, (ii) rejected with the possibility of resubmission, (iii) conditionally accepted or (iv) accepted. They are expected to read 5-6 articles per week, and are members of the Editorial Board. They also decide on the publishing schedule and on the annual dialectica prize and may commission special issue, delegating their editorial responsibility to one or several guest editors.

The members of the Editorial Board own the journal and represent it in legal and any other matters. They are willing to referee approx. 5 articles per year (at least). They meet at least once a year to discuss any matters related to the journal and receive the journal for free.

Amongst themselves, the members of the editorial board elect an editor, to whom they delegate the scientific responsibility for the journal, a managing editor, to whom they delegate their administrative responsibility for the journal and who is in charge of the day-to-day functioning of the journal and a reviews editor, who is charge of commissioning, evaluating and editing book reviews.

The managing editor is appointed by the editorial board and acts as its representative in administrative matters. On behalf of the editor, the managing editor is in charge of dialectica's day-to-day business and stays in contact with the authors and the publisher.

Members of the honorary board are rewarded for their services to dialectica. They are invited to the meetings of the editorial board where their vote has consultative force. They receive the journal for free, but are not expected to write referee reports.

Members of the consulting board support the journal and are willing to referee approx. 3 articles per year. They are invited to the meetings of the editorial board where their vote has consultative force.


We are extremely grateful to our referees who are doing excellent work on a completely voluntary basis. Without them, our journal would not exist.