about us

Dialectica was founded in 1947 by Gaston Bachelard, Paul Bernays and Ferdinand Gonseth.


The editors of dialectica are Fabrice CorreiaUniversity of Geneva, and Philipp BlumUniversity of Lucerne, Switzerland.

Philipp Blum is in charge of the day-to-day functioning of Dialectica as well as the contact with authors and referees. Please write to philipp.blum@philosophie.ch with any queries and questions.

The reviews editor are Stephan Leuenberger and Philipp Blum. We do not accept unsolicited book reviews, but welcome being informed by authors of their newly published books, and receive suggestions for reviewers. We are looking for controversial and philosophically interesting reviews of not more than 2000 words.

Editorial board

Jérôme Dokic Institut Jean Nicod, Paris dokic@ehess.fr
Pascal Engel EHESS Pascal.Engel@ehess.fr
Manuel García-Carpintero Universitat de Barcelona m.garciacarpintero@ub.edu
Diego Marconi Università di Torino diego.marconi@unito.it
Carlos Moya Universitat de Valéncia Carlos.Moya@uv.es
Martine Nida-Rümelin Université de Fribourg martine.nida-ruemelin@unifr.ch
François Récanati Institut Jean Nicod, Paris recanati@ehess.fr
Marco Santambrogio Università degli Studi di Parma marco.santambrogio@unipr.it
Peter Simons Trinity College Dublin psimons@tcd.ie
Gianfranco Soldati Université de Fribourg gianfranco.soldati@unifr.ch
Marcel Weber Université de Genève marcel.weber@unige.ch

Honorary Board

Erwin Engeler Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich engeler@math.ethz.ch
Wilhelm Essler J.-W. Goethe Universität, Frankfurt essler@em.uni-frankfurt.de
Richard Glauser Université de Neuchâtel richard.glauser@unine.ch
Guido Küng Université de Fribourg guido.kueng@unifr.ch
Kevin Mulligan ISFI, Lugano kevin.mulligan@unige.ch
Daniel Schulthess Université de Neuchâtel daniel.schulthess@unine.ch

Editorial Committee

Philipp Blum (né Keller) University of Lucerne philipp.blum@philosophie.ch
Claudio Calosi Université de Genève claudio.calosi@unige.ch
Fabrice Correia Université de Genève fabrice.correia@unige.ch
Catharine Diehl Universität Luzern catharine.diel@unilu.ch
Julien Dutant King's College London julien.dutant@kcl.ac.uk
Matthias Egg Universität Bern matthias.egg@philo.unibe.ch
Patrik Engisch Université de Fribourg patrik.engisch@gmail.com
David Furrer Universität Luzern david.furrer@unilu.ch
Andrea Giananti Université de Fribourg andrea.giananti@unifr.ch
Jörg Löschke Universität Zürich joerg.loeschke@philos.uzh.ch
Arturs Logins Université de Genève arturs.logins@unige.ch
Giovanni Merlo Université de Genève giovanni.merlo@yahoo.it
Robert Michels Université de Genève robert.michels@unige.ch
Sebastian Muders Universität Zürich sebastian.muders@ethik.uzh.ch
Paolo Natali Université de Genève paolo.natali@unige.ch
Donnchadh O'Conaill Université de Fribourg donnchadh.oconaill@unifr.ch
François Pellet Universität Münster francois.pellet@uni-muenster.de
Edgar Phillips Université de Fribourg edgar.phillips@unifr.ch
Steph Rennick University of Glasgow Stephanie.Rennick@glasgow.ac.uk
Maria Scarpati Université de Neuchâtel maria.scarpati@unine.ch
Philipp Schwind Universität Zürich philipp.schwind@philos.uzh.ch
Mike Stuart Université de Genève mike.stuart.post@gmail.com
Fabrice Teroni Université de Genève fabrice.teroni@unige.ch
Daniel Vanello University College Dublin tativanello@gmail.com
Lisa Vogt Universitadt de Barcelona lisa.vogt@yahoo.de
Jonas Waechter Università della Svizzera italiana jonaswaechter@yahoo.com
Christian Weibel Universität Zürich weibel@philos.uzh.ch

Consulting Board

Johannes Brandl Universität Salzburg johannes.brandl@sbg.ac.at
João Branquinho Universidade de Lisboa jbranquinho@netcabo.pt
Elke Brendel Universität Bonn ebrendel@uni-bonn.de
Ingar Brinck Lunds Universitet ingar.brinck@fil.lu.se
Eros Corazza Ikerbasque and Carleton University eros_corazza@carleton.ca
Josep Corbi Universitat Valéncia josep.corbi@uv.es
Michael Esfeld Université de Lausanne Michael-Andreas.Esfeld@unil.ch
Dagfinn Føllesdal Stanford University d.k.follesdal@ifikk.uio.no
Frank Jackson Australian National University frank.jackson@anu.edu.au
Max Kistler Université de Paris-I, IHPST, Paris Maximilian.Kistler@univ-paris1.fr
Max Kölbel Universität Wien max.koelbel@univie.ac.at
Jan Lacki Université de Genève jan.lacki@unige.ch
Karel Lambert University of California, Irvine lerak@charter.net
Paolo Leonardi Università di Bologna p.leonardi@dsc.unibo.it
Fraser MacBride University of Manchester fraser.macBride@manchester.ac.uk
Josep Macià Universitat de Barcelona josep.macia@ub.edu
Genoveva Martí Universitat de Barcelona genoveva.marti@gmail.com
Elisabeth Pacherie Insitut Jean Nicod, Paris elisabeth.pacherie@ens.fr
David Piñeda Universitat de Girona david.pineda@udg.es
Wlodek Rabinowicz Lunds Universitet wlodek.rabinowicz@fil.lu.se
Barry Smith University of Buffalo phismith@buffalo.edu
Thomas Strahm Universität Bern strahm@inf.unibe.ch
Christine Tappolet Université de Montréal christine.tappolet@UMontreal.ca
Neil Tennant Ohio State University tennant.9@osu.edu
Mark Textor King's College London mark.textor@kcl.ac.uk
Achille Varzi Columbia University achille.varzi@columbia.edu
Alberto Voltolini University of Modena and Reggio Emilia voltolini.alberto@unimore.it
Timothy Williamson University of Oxford timothy.williamson@philosophy.oxford.ac.uk


The members of the Editorial Committee meet regularly to discuss the papers submitted to dialectica, to choose referees, read the referee reports and decide on whether papers are (i) rejected, (ii) rejected with the possibility of resubmission, (iii) conditionally accepted or (iv) accepted. They are expected to read 5-6 articles per week, and are members of the Editorial Board. They also decide on the publishing schedule and on the annual dialectica prize and may commission special issue, delegating their editorial responsibility to one or several guest editors.

The members of the Editorial Board own the journal and represent it in legal and any other matters. They are willing to referee approx. 5 articles per year (at least). They meet at least once a year to discuss any matters related to the journal and receive the journal for free.

Amongst themselves, the members of the editorial board elect an editor, to whom they delegate the scientific responsibility for the journal, a managing editor, to whom they delegate their administrative responsibility for the journal and who is in charge of the day-to-day functioning of the journal and a reviews editor, who is charge of commissioning, evaluating and editing book reviews.

The managing editor is appointed by the editorial board and acts as its representative in administrative matters. On behalf of the editor, the managing editor is in charge of dialectica's day-to-day business and stays in contact with the authors and the publisher.

Members of the honorary board are rewarded for their services to dialectica. They are invited to the meetings of the editorial board where their vote has consultative force. They receive the journal for free, but are not expected to write referee reports.

Members of the consulting board support the journal and are willing to referee approx. 3 articles per year. They are invited to the meetings of the editorial board where their vote has consultative force.


We are extremely grateful to our referees who are doing excellent work on a completely voluntary basis. Without them, our journal would not exist.